Thursday, July 10, 2008

World Heritage List Adds Eight New Natural Wonders

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) has added 8 new natural wonders to the World Heritage List:

* Joggins Fossil Cliffs (Canada)
* Mount Sanqingshan National Park (China)
* Lagoons of New Caledonia: Reef Diversity and Associated Ecosystems (France)
* Surtsey (Iceland)
* Saryarka - Steppe and Lakes of Northern Kazakhstan (Kazakhstan)
* Monarch Butterfly Biosphere Reserve (Mexico)
* Swiss Tectonic Arena Sardona (Switzerland)
* Socotra Archipelago (Yemen)

Socotra Archipelago

Some of these I definitely will visit.

No comments: